Vengeance is Mine: The Legal Aftermath of the Mountain Meadows Massacre

Nov 14, 2023, 7:00 – 8:00 PM


About this event

This event offers 1 regular hour of CLE credit - pending UT Bar approval.

About the Speakers:

Richard E. Turley, Jr. – Richard is the former managing director of the Church History, Family History, Public Affairs, and Communication Departments of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. He also served as Assistant Church Historian and Recorder. He is the coauthor or coeditor of several works on the Mountain Meadows Massacre, including most recently Vengeance Is Mine: The Mountain Meadows Massacre and Its Aftermath. He received a bachelor’s degree in English from Brigham Young University, where he was a Spencer W. Kimball Scholar. He later graduated from the J. Reuben Clark Law School at BYU, where he served as executive editor of the law review, was elected to the Order of the Coif, and received the Hugh B. Brown Barrister’s Award, given to the student who demonstrates the highest standards of classroom performance.

Barbara Jones Brown - Barbara is the director of Signature Books Publishing and coauthor of Vengeance Is Mine: The Mountain Meadows Massacre and Its Aftermath. Previously she was the executive director of the Mormon History Association, historical director of Better Days 2020, and content editor of the award-winning Massacre at Mountain Meadows. She earned a Master’s degree in American history from the University of Utah and a Bachelor’s degree in journalism and English from Brigham Young University. While researching her genealogy after beginning work on Vengeance Is Mine, she discovered that, like the earlier Mountain Meadows Massacre historian, Juanita Brooks, she is a direct descendant of one of its perpetrators.


  • Richard E. Turley Jr.

  • Barbara Jones Brown



Tuesday, November 14, 2023
7:00 PM – 8:00 PM UTC


  • Joseph Brubaker

    Kirton McConkie

    Board Member

  • Tehya Walkingstick-Murphey

    Kirton McConkie

    Board Member, Events Manager, & Treasurer

  • James Moss

    Payne & Fears LLP

    Board Member

  • Clifford Blair

    Kirton McConkie

    Interim Board Chair

  • Stewart Young

    U.S. AttorneyΓÇÖs Office - District of Utah (DOJ)

    Board Member

  • Larry Jenkins

    Kirton McConkie

    Board Member

  • MEGAN Nelson

    Board Member & JRCLS SLC WIL Committee Chair

  • Forrest Hansen

    J. Reuben Clark Law Society

    Executive Director

  • Joseph Watkins

    Board Member

  • Erin Rider

    Dorsey & Whitney LLP

    Board Member

  • Todd Weiler

    Board Member

  • Drake Walker

    U of U Chapter Chair - JRCLS SLC Student Liason

Contact Us