22nd Annual Rex E. Lee Luncheon

May 17, 4:00 – 5:30 PM

About this event

The Rex Lee Advocacy Award recognizes excellence in appellate advocacy. This year’s award will be presented to Irv Gornstein, Executive Director of Georgetown Law Center’s Supreme Court Institute and renowned Supreme Court advocate. Mr. Gornstein previously worked in the Solicitor General’s office as acting Deputy Solicitor General, where he argued 38 cases before the Supreme Court of the United States. He also worked in the Appellate Section of the Department of Justice’s Civil Rights Division.

The Shawn Bentley Public Service Award honors Shawn through stipends to law school students who have demonstrated a willingness to explore a public service opportunity in the legal profession in the Washington, D.C. area during law school.

In addition to the awards presentation, this year we are excited that the keynote address will be given by David Blankenhorn, President and Co-Founder of Braver Angels. Braver Angels is the nation’s largest cross-partisan, volunteer-led movement to bridge the partisan divide. We also will be joined by several prominent members of the bench and bar.

The luncheon will be held at 12:00 p.m. on May 17, 2024 at the Mayflower Hotel in Washington, D.C. (1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036).


  • Andrew Mann

    Chapter Chair Elect

  • Alusine Conteh

    Department of the Navy Office of the General Counsel

    External Relations

  • Christopher Jackson

    Communication Chair

  • David Cook


    Pro Bono Chair

  • Matthew McGhie

    U.S. Senate Office of the Legislative Counsel


  • Gene Schaerr

    Schaerr|Jaffe LLP

    Religious Liberty Chair

  • Matthew Niu

    Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe

    Student Liaison

  • Tom Thomas Isaacson

    Polsinelli, PC

    Membership Chair

  • Daniel Kenton Oakes

    Events Chair

  • Zachary Smith

    Zobrist Law Group PLLC

    Chapter Chair

  • Idrienne Walker

    Anne Arundel County

    Women in Law Chair

  • Brigman Harman

    United States Department of Justice, Environmental and Natural Resources Division

    Employment and Networking Chair

Contact Us