JRCLS Members Present at 2024 Religious Freedom Annual Review

Read more (Español | Português)

On June 20, 2024, a dozen members of the J. Reuben Clark Law Society presented at the 2024 Religious Freedom Annual Review, hosted by the International Center for Law and Religious Studies on the campus of Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. Gathered to discuss the topic of becoming peacemakers through supporting religious freedom and pluralism, attendees included religious leaders from many different faiths, religious liberty experts and scholars, and other supporters of religious freedom.

Law Society members Annika Boone Barkdull, Blaine Evanson, and Hannah Clayson Smith participated in a panel discussion on church autonomy and judicial developments in the area of free exercise of religion. JRCLS members Shawn Gunnerson, Gene Schaerr and Brett Scharffs engaged in a panel discussion on religious freedom and the administrative state. Society members Joshua McDaniel and Gary Doxey discussed the 30th anniversary of the Religious Freedom Restoration Act, and Sarah Johns was a panelist during a session with students from Fuller Seminary and BYU. Law Society members Amy Andrus, David Moore, and Elyse Slabaugh also participated as moderators. 

Other general session presenters included Imam Mohamad Bashar Arafa, Civilizations Exchange and Cooperation Foundation; Ryan Burge of Eastern Illinois University; Christopher M. Butler, Chicago Embassy Church Network; Frederick A. Davie, United States Commission on International Religious Freedom; Dave Gibbons, of Dave Gibbons, LLC; Cal Jernigan, Central Christian Church; Camille N. Johnson, Relief Society General President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints; and Bob Roberts, Jr., Institute for Global Engagement.